Let’s Find a Home for Matador

Matador, ready for adoption

Matador, ready to sit on your lap and purr.

Hello! My name is Matador and I originally came from a local shelter, but now  I am trying to find a home of my own.  You see, I was a stray in McKees Rocks and very, very sick but my foster mom rescued me. I am on a special diet for the rest of my life as a result, but don’t let that worry you.

I don’t run around and cause trouble like kittens do, I am quiet and pretty laid-back. I am not beautiful or thin, but boy am I a loving cat.  I’m a sweet, affectionate 4-year-old (or so) shorthaired tuxedo male cat who loves to be brushed.

I am happy just to lay around and be petted.  I am no trouble at all. I get along with other cats and even dogs because I mostly just mind my own business.

Won’t you give me a chance at a new life?

If you’re the one for me, please call FosterCat at 412-481-9144 or just go to the adoption page on the website and fill out a form with my name on it! I’ll be waiting to hear from you.

Who wouldn’t love Matador?! But if a quiet black and white kitty isn’t what you are looking for FosterCat has all flavors of kitties in foster homes right now! Please visit the Adopt Me! page and browse the kitties who are looking for homes right now.

If you can’t adopt, consider being a foster home

If you live in the Pittsburgh area, FosterCat is also looking for foster homes in the south hills. FosterCat, Inc. is seeking responsible, cat loving caregivers to provide temporary love and care for homeless cats until permanent homes are found.

Our foster parents provide daily care for cats or kittens in their homes until they are ready to be placed for permanent adoption. FosterCat will provide food, litter, medications, as needed, and will absorb all veterinary expenses associated with our kitties.

FosterCat, Inc. is a local 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization. Contact FosterCat, Inc. at 412-481-9144 or click here to learn more about becoming a FosterCat foster parent and to submit a foster application.


Ginger and Gilligan Were Adopted!

gilligan at animal protectors

Here's Gilligan...

ginger at animal protectors

...and here's Ginger!

I’m so happy to report that this brother and sister pair were adopted last week! Some lucky person took advantage of the discount when adopting two black cats.

You may have to be of a certain age to recognize their names…Gilligan and his sister, Ginger were returned from placement. They were both adopted as young kittens, then returned to the shelter.

bevis at animal protectors

Bevis looks really bored with shelter life.

Bevis is still available, though!

Animal Protectors of Allegheny Valley is a small no-kill shelter in New Kensington, north of Pittsburgh.

But small doesn’t mean they aren’t full of cats during kitten season. While they’ve got creative special deals on feline adoptions and fosters all the time, they’ve got two special offers for Adopt a Cat Month.

At left, meet Bevis, domestic short hair, black male, neutered adult, “Bevis came to the shelter with a nasty infection (let’s just say it was under his tail). All healed now and looking good, this black cat is about as sweet and loving as you could want. Come in and meet Bevis.”

The Beauty of the Black Cat

Adopt one black cat or kitten and receive a $10 adoption discount.
Adopt a pair of black cats or kittens and receive a $25 adoption discount.

It’s Kitten Season!

Adopt one kitten and receive a $10 adoption discount.
Adopt a pair of kittens and receive a $25 adoption discount.

General Adoption Fees:
Cats under one year: $75
Cats over one year: $45

Please consider adopting a cat or kitten (or two!) during the month of June. See more cats for adoption at the website, www.animalprotectors.net and if you’re on Facebook, visit their FB page.

Adoption Hours:
Tuesday and Thursday: 6 p.m.to 8 p.m.
Wednesday: 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Remember to encourage spaying and neutering! This simple act saves lives! For more information on low cost spaying and neutering, please call the shelter at 724-339-7388.