Daily Sketch: Mimi Shape

purple shape of cat

Mimi Shape, colored pencil © B.E. Kazmarski

Not what I set out to do when I grabbed the purple colored pencil to sketch Mimi bathing by the window, but as soon as I got the quick initial outline down, she decided she had been sketched enough lately. But I was involved enough in the sketch that I decided to continue.

Without my model my visualization wandered from the details I’d gathered and knew by heart and I just remembered that graceful curve ending in the curl of her tail. You can see a few other tries and other lines around the edges, so to clarify I hardened the lines I wanted then added some interior shading. Reminds me of a good old doodle. But I like the sculptural feel, and the will to abstract a familiar shape. And Mimi is definitely a purple kitty.

As soon as I was done she came right back. Taught me a lesson about using my imagination!

________________________

Click here to see other daily sketches, and for a gallery of the ones available for sale, visit my Etsy shop in the “Daily Sketches” section.

All images used on this site are copyrighted to Bernadette E. Kazmarski unless otherwise noted and may not be used without my written permission. Please ask if you are interested in purchasing one as a print, or to use in a print or internet publication.


Two Cats in the Sun

black and white photo of two black cats

Two Black Cats in the Sun

Just a typical domestic scene, but the black and white treatment makes it look somehow mysterious.

And it is, really; I may think Mewsette is watching leaf shadows move on the wall while Mr. Sunshine simply reclines in the background, but do I really know what they do in moments like this? They have a life when I’m not directly in it. Is Mr. Sunshine involved in an introspective moment, remembering things from his kittenhood on this very landing? Is Mewsette enjoying the aesthetics of the leaf patterns instead of, as I presume, watching them as cats watch things that move? Do they simply wander around being in the moment, or do they have the same deep relationship with their surroundings I do? When I walk into moments like this I know, not from what I see but from what I feel, there’s a lot more than meets the eye. And I often feel they are inviting me to join them, not that they are simply responding to me as their human.

Hence the black and white, and the slight angle, to convey what I felt.

______________________________

Unless I have linked the photo to something else, which is rare with daily photos, you can click the photo to see a larger version. I save them at 1000 pixels maximum dimension, and at that size the photos are nearly twice the dimension and you can see more detail in many of the photos I post. Please remember if you download or share, my name and the link back to the original photo should always appear with it.

To see more daily photos go to “Daily Images” in the menu and choose “All Photos” or any other category.

All images used on this site are copyrighted to Bernadette E. Kazmarski unless otherwise noted and may not be used without my written permission. Please ask if you are interested in purchasing one as a print, or to use in a print or internet publication.


Excuse Me, Girlfriend? 2011

black cat and tortie cat nose to nose

Mimi and Cookie

Cookie and Mimi actually get along just fine, but Mimi kept trying to: 1) steal the limelight as I was photographing The Goddess, and; 2) steal the catnip candy cane from under Cookie’s paws. Cookie gives a friendly warning, her ears and whiskers swept forward, and a warning was enough for Mimi, ears and whiskers swept back.

Cookie’s coloring looks odd because she is in full sun so her details are flashed out in order to get any detail in Mimi, who is in shadow. Why couldn’t they have been reversed?!

______________________________

Unless I have linked the photo to something else, which is rare with daily photos, you can click the photo to see a larger version. I save them at 1000 pixels maximum dimension, and at that size the photos are nearly twice the dimension and you can see more detail in many of the photos I post. Please remember if you download or share, my name and the link back to the original photo should always appear with it.

To see more daily photos go to “Daily Images” in the menu and choose “All Photos” or any other category.

All images used on this site are copyrighted to Bernadette E. Kazmarski unless otherwise noted and may not be used without my written permission. Please ask if you are interested in purchasing one as a print, or to use in a print or internet publication.


A Foster Home for Sylvester

cat on blanket

The new Sylvester, trimmed and brushed!

Sylvester the lovebug, the last of Dorothy’s Pets, continues to flourish, especially after his spa day where he was groomed and trimmed, all the while purring and kneading in happiness. Look, he’s even making biscuits with his front paws in this photo! He’s come a long way from the scruffy kitty with the open sore on his neck we met last fall who hid under the bed. I think he looks like a plush toy and he’s sounding more and more like a perfect loving companion for someone who is waiting for an only cat.

Sylvester still needs to find a new home in the next month. He is still staying at Dorothy’s home and Melanie visits him every night. She had initially decided she’d try integrating him into her household, but the logistics of 14 cats and three dogs is already complicated. Adding Sylvester’s natural shyness and multiple skin conditions resulting from diet and a severe flea allergy would not be the best conditions for his progress—both his personality and health might suffer and revert to where they had been, sad for a cat who’s come so far. Dorothy’s home will be up for sale in the next month, and Sylvester needs to find a home before everything is removed and strangers come walking through.

photo of beagle

Cocoa.

Another complication for Melanie with one of her own

Melanie has been working with Dorothy and her pets for nearly a year, all through Dorothy’s diagnosis and decline from brain cancer last year, and Dorothy’s death in February, all the while caring for her own rescued animals. Anyone who has rescued animals knows what a toll this has taken on her time and her means.

Now Melanie has another complication and a sad diagnosis with one of her own rescues. Her beagle, Cocoa, was just diagnosed with transitional cell carcinoma, and she needs to raise money to help continue with Cocoa’s chemo.  Melanie has set up a new ChipIn account to continue with donations for Sylvester’s continuing care, and for others who would like to help this rescuer who has done so much with one of her own: http://dorothyspets.chipin.com/sylvester-and-cocoa.

Sylvester’s new profile

Here’s what Melanie has to say about Sylvester:

cat looking backward

Sylvester hanging out.

Sylvester is awesome! He’s approximately 5 – 7 years old and neutered. His owner passed away in February and he’s still living in his home, but once the house goes up for sale his future is uncertain. Right now me and my husband care for him every night.

Sylvester is incredibly affectionate. I cannot stress this enough. He loves to snuggle and makes a great lap warmer. He’s also very generous with his head bonks. He’s become more playful since we started caring for him. He loves feather and laser toys. He does this really adorable play hiss when he’s really excited. It’s hilarious. We just had him professionally groomed and the groomers loved him! She told me that as they were shaving his belly he purred and kneaded the entire time.

cat looking up

Sylvester waiting for love.

Sylvester does have some allergies and must be kept indoors only because he cannot be exposed to fleas. When we first began caring for him he was in a lot of discomfort and was scratching himself raw. We found a vet to work with and he’s done a complete turnaround. He’s healed and his care didn’t turn out to be nearly as expensive or extensive as we initially thought it would be. Plus he’s incredibly easy to care for and that really helps. He’s just an all around great cat.

We would like to see Sylvester placed as an only pet in the home due to his severe flea allergy and he must be kept indoors only, no exceptions.

If you would like to hear more about Sylvester please contact me. He probably only has about a month left before his home goes up for sale and he must be removed.

Watch a video of Sylvester in action!

Contact Melanie

Sylvester lives in Baden, PA. If you are interested in adopting or fostering him please e-mail Melanie.

Sylvester Steps Out, Update on Dorothy’s Pets

Dorothy Must Finally Let Them Go: A Final Wish

An Update on Dorothy’s Pets: A Final Wish

Chipin for Dorothy’s Pets: A Final Wish

A Final Wish